Ageism sucks

When men get gray hair, they are called mature, distinguished, handsome.

When women get gray hair, we’re called old, dated, crone, over the hill, past use-by date etc etc.

I have had gray hair since I was 17.. correction, I first noticed grey hair when I was 17.  My youngest son, Alan, spotted his when he wasn’t quite 12.

When I was in my teens and 20s, having the silvery locks in front of my ears was ‘cool’. In my 30s, still ok. 40s? Not so much.  Strangely enough, most of it is on the right side of my head. Brunette on one side, silver on the other? Uhh no.

So here I am into my 50s and I freely admit I color the gray.   I’m quite sure there will come a time I will get tired of doing so, but until then..

Ageism sucks.

About Sandra

Passenger on a blue marble, circling yellow star. Dancer, astronomer, technogeek, coffee lover, pagan, photographer.. not necessarily in this order.
This entry was posted in Every Day Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

