If you don’t want a ‘fair’ rating then up your game.

I bought something from an online seller. Used item, CD. I didn’t expect it to be pristine as it was a used CD, but it was listed as in “Very Good” condition.

It arrived quickly, and then I spotted the yellow Opened by Australia Post for inspection by Quarantine sticker on the front, and a PASSED one on the back where the package was resealed.

At first I thought it was just a random inspection. Then I opened it.  I read the note about how it was flagged by canine inspection (aka sniffer dog) so they opened it.  The item was dirty? (Whohuhwha..?  How does one get a CD dirty enough to flag a sniffer dog? What was on it?).

Took out the CD, and my expectations dropped another notch. The CD case was cracked.  Ok, that happens when sellers mail on the cheap, using padded envelopes. I have empty jewel cases just for stuff like this.

Then, I took the cd out.  The playing surface was visibly scratched to the point I didn’t know if it would play. Also, I saw what flagged the sniffer dog. It had something on the playing surface, spots of something that had been spilled on it. I checked what was left of the CD case, including the booklet and back.  Nothing. So this wasn’t grunge that happened during the trip, but before it was shipped.

So, I tell the seller about the condition. I get fed condescending platitudes and how *I* must be wrong, or have buyers remorse. At no time did I request a return or refund.

I left a ‘fair’ rating. Explained the scratches and spots, that the CD wasn’t in very good condition, but in fair or maybe good. 

So, what does seller do? Sends me a “woe is me, how could you do this to me?” sort of message, telling me I had buyers remorse and othersuch bullshit.

In short, I replied, telling her about the cracked case, the quarantine inspection caused by whatever foreign substance was on the CD and the quality of the CD not being what she claimed it was.  And I included photos.  Again, at no time did I request a return or refund.

I did, however, carefully clean the CD, put it in the DVD player and made a FLAC file with a cue sheet. Played it. I did hear a few flaws (slight crackle) during the playback. I stand by my assessment. Seller got a fair rating as the product wasn’t as she described, it was mailed dirty, in a cheap padded envelope.

Buyers’ remorse?  No, but I think she had “Sellers’ faux remorse because someone actually left honest comment.”

About Sandra

Passenger on a blue marble, circling yellow star. Dancer, astronomer, technogeek, coffee lover, pagan, photographer.. not necessarily in this order.
This entry was posted in Every Day Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

